New Jersey Professional Development

Requirements for New Jersey Teachers

Welcome!

Below is a summary of how Learners Edge may help with your Professional Development requirements when teaching in New Jersey. This summary should in no way release individuals from their responsibility of ensuring that the course they take meets their professional needs.  We hope it provides assistance in understanding how Learners Edge might help you in the salary advancement and certification process.

Certificate & Professional Development Requirements

Information obtained from the State of New Jersey Department of Education.

  • Provisional - This two-year certificate is requested by the employing school district for a newly hired teacher after an individual obtains a CE or CEAS and a full-time teaching position. This certificate legalizes employment. Both mentoring and supervision and evaluation are required under this certificate. Alternate route teachers will also be required to complete formal instruction. Please visit the Provisional Teacher Program (PTP) page for more details. Note that an individual cannot apply for this certificate. Rather, it is the employing district that applies for this certificate on behalf of the applicant. For upcoming changes in 2017-2018 for candidates obtaining CE's a and the CE preparation programs click here.
  • Standard - This is a permanent certificate issued to an individual who has met all requirements for state certification. This certificate is issued to an individual who has successfully completed the PTP program, holds a previously issued NJ instructional certificate, or holds a valid out-of-state instructional certificate equivalent standard instructional certificate and has at least two effective years of teaching that were completed within three consecutive years within the last four calendar years.
Individual Professional Development Requirements
  • Each teacher must complete at least 20 hours of professional development each school year (replacing previous requirement of 100 hours over 5 years).
New Jersey Professional Development Requirements in Statue and Regulations
  • Mandatory Professional Development (PD) requirements for particular groups of educators are specified in statute and regulation. The requirements are grouped under the following topics:
  • Reading Disabilities (Explore our Literacy Courses)
  • Prevention: Suicide, Substance Abuse, Harassment, Intimidation, and Bullying (Explore our Special Populations Courses)
  • School Safety, Security and Code of Student Conduct
  • Health
  • Interscholastic Activities
  • Additional Professional Development Topics (Explore all Learners Edge Courses)

Message from Learners Edge:

Please note, Learners Edge courses are approved and offered for graduate credit by our regionally accredited and state approved college/university partners. Continuing education graduate credit is intended to fulfill requirements for license renewal/lane change when the student has obtained proper prior approval.

pd-checklist-cta